Four times in the past week, Aaron has cried.

THIS IS AMAZING.

Three of them were for injuries, which is a good start.  Normal kids cry when they get hurt too.

But the first time was after discipline!! Shock!  (The problem is, I was totally unprepared for it, and it was over a minor thing.)

Both Husband and I feel like we’ve made some emotional breakthroughs this week.

Should I try to figure out why, or just enjoy the ride?

It could be he’s settled in more (but he didn’t cry at his old foster home either).

It could be the new med he started (not ADHD meds, but another neurological type).

It could be he’s just matured.  My best guess is that plus becoming more comfortable with us.

I do still need to sit down with him and talk to him about his emotions.  I need to ask him directly what makes him sad and what makes him angry.  I need to ask him what he does when he is sad or angry.  I’m not sure he’ll know how to answer.

And do I dare ask his parents how often he cried at their home?  I wouldn’t be surprised if he is emotionally stunted because of his parents’ methods of discipline and communication during the first two years of his life.  And I don’t even know what those methods were, but I’m guessing they weren’t well thought out.

