They call you with a placement.

And instead of sticking my fingers in my ears and yelling “LALALA I CAN’T HEAR YOU! AND BESIDES, I’M NOT ON THE CALL LIST ANYWAY!!”,  I listened.

And this morning, we’ll accept the placement.

A 6 year old boy I’ll call Aaron and his 5 year old sister I’ll call Allie.

This has all the hallmarks of a long placement: been in care before, no family available, and former foster family told me the parents have the classic “I’m a perfect parent” dillusion.

So.

That’s what I get for procrastinating on a nice night out with Husband!  Those plans are out the window!

And let me tell you, we sure had a romantic time last night, whispering sweet nothings about the concerns and benefits of accepting this placement.

(But isn’t it cool that we get the resource of their former foster home?  I talked to the foster mom for quite a while last night and got a great feel for the personalities of the kids.  She would’ve taken them right back but she just accepted a new placement and doesn’t have space.  She is heartbroken about it, and I feel for her.  So I think it’s a mutually beneficial relationship to keep in contact.)

Court is today to decide if the kids actually do come into care, and then if so, they’ll be here later this morning.

Back on the merry-go-round we go!

